So here is the scoop

What a miserable set of events:

I wondered why Manpower had not hired me for a job, but had hired my roommate. So I called. The conversation went something like this:

Manpower: “There’s a receptionist job available at Verizon, but they do not want you.”

Me: “What?”

Manpower: “(the manager) said you worked there before and were not satisfactory and they do not want you back.”

Me: “Verizon?”

Manpower: “Yes.”

Me: “I have never worked for them.”

At this point I listed the places I had worked for through Manpower.

Manpower: “There must have been a mixup.”

So I am frustrated by this. The Manpower representative said he would take care of it. I will harass him again since it was the end of the day on a Friday.

After hanging up, I am waiting at a crosswalk when a red sports car drives up. Two men are inside, one throws a Sprite can at my feet. It fizzes and spins and sprays all over my legs. They speed off with hyena laughs. I am at first stunned, but the anger soon sets in. My vision turned red. Maybe that is why when I picked up the can and tried to chuck it at the car I missed. Too much red. I start running toward them, hoping the light they were heading toward would turn red. Unluckily (or maybe luckily — I didn’t really have a plan for when I caught up to them) the light stayed green and they became another dot on 13th.

Bastards. What the hell is wrong with them?

~ by shawp on April 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
