I thought my guitar strings had rusted, but it was actually dried blood.

So, our first show was last night. My girlfriend came down from Tallahassee to witness. My newspaper editor and her friends also came. A modest slew of others too (including a roommate). The show was at the Kickstand — a quirky warehouse where bikes are fixed for free. Gigantic, but still hard to find.

My bandmate looked pretty and she sang well. We both had our flubs, though. Many flubs: Throwing down sticks, missing guitar pedals, missing notes, missing chords, forgetting lyrics, awkwardly making stage talk, having a guitar going out of tune, having me going out of tune, using a new strap that made me feel like Greenday with how low my guitar was, being all fumbly, being all mumbly, sweating too much, etc. etc. etc.

And I loved it all.

I saw so much potential through the terrible set. I wonder if anyone else can see it?

It’ll take a bit though.

Until then.

I quit my job.

Hopefully getting published will be more than a one-time thing.

I think I might add a “links page” to this blog.

God, I’m tired. My girlfriend took care of me though. Bought me a guitar strap and pick-up for the show while I was working. She was there for moral support to tell me how awesome I was, counter-acting my pessimism. She even fixed dinner for me. I don’t know what I would have done without her. Probably died of malnutrition and stress.

Thank you to all who came out and watched us be awkward and all live performance-virginy. Even if you are just a vague acquaintance of my bandmate’s, it meant the world to me.

~ by shawp on May 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
